Rosemarie Ross

Please welcome our guest and my friend, Rosemarie Ross as we discuss her new cozy mystery, Cobblered to Death and talk about writing! And, Rosemarie has generously offered a copy of Cobblered to Death to one lucky commenter (US only). 

Cobblered to Death-1

SHAREE: I absolutely loved your new cozy mystery, Cobblered to Death. You’ve written in many different genres. What drew you to cozy mysteries?

ROSEMARIE: Cozy mysteries are so fun to read and write! You get to create quirky characters and infuse humor into your story line. It’s also fun to develop a series character and watch them grow and change over time.

SHAREE: You definitely endeared me to Courtney. Since this is book one of the Courtney Archer series, what can we expect in book two?

ROSEMARIE: The American Baking Battle is a wedding themed show in book two of the series and book three is a Christmas book which is what I’m working on now.

SHAREE: Can’t wait!! What gave you the inspiration for the story?

ROSEMARIE: My editor was looking for a baking show scenario in a book. Since I watch a lot, A LOT, of cooking shows, it was easy for me to come up with a show premise then twist it with the behind the scenes filming being much different than what you see when you watch the program.

SHAREE: I enjoy cooking shows too, but they make me hungry. Giggle. What is the message you hope readers gain from Cobblered to Death?

ROSEMARIE: I don’t know if I have a message worked into my theme? I like to entertain readers, help them forget about their problems or stresses for a few minutes.

SHAREE: Cobblered to Death was definitely entertaining. Let’s shift gears a little bit. Rosemarie has done wonderful writing workshops and if you ever get the chance to hear her teach, I’d highly recommend it. What advice would you give to writers?

ROSEMARIE: For beginning authors, READ. Read books about the craft of writing and believe what they say. Read books about the marketing side of writing. Take writing courses through colleges, tech schools or online. Writing is not for the faint of heart. It’s a tough, competitive business and knowing as much as you can about the process is vital to your success. Also, keep your eye on the market. I don’t mean following trends, but know your genre. For mid-career authors, keep abreast of the marketing trends and continue to develop your craft either by taking courses or attending workshops. Also, for all authors, don’t be afraid to try something new, a different genre, writing in 1st person vs. 3rd, etc. It helps stretch those writing muscles!

SHAREE: I’m taking all of that advice to heart. Okay, now for fun, do you have a dream vacation? Or a bucket list item?

ROSEMARIE: I’m going to combine these two questions. I don’t have a dream vacation or bucket list, but I would like to visit all 50 states in the U. S. I’m a little over halfway but for a few states I’ve only ‘visited’ an airport.

SHAREE: I have visited many states via the airport only. Giggle. What a fun idea to visit all 50 and you’re halfway through?! Wow! What’s the silliest thing you’ve ever done?

ROSEMARIED: Hmm…I don’t know. I do a lot of silly things.

SHAREE: What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever done?

ROSEMARIE: Pertaining to my writing? Having to regroup and reevaluate my writing career after losing an editor who liked working with me and having the new editor cancel my contract with only one of the four books in the series published.

SHAREE: That does sound hard. Is there anything else you’d like to share with our readers?

ROSEMARIE: Yes, I want to say: THANK YOU! from the bottom of my heart. Writing is a lonely profession so having readers, and hearing from readers, is very special.

SHAREE: I agree, Rosemarie! Thank you so much for joining us today. And friends, Cobblered to Death is such a fun read. It would also make a wonderful Christmas gift! You can read my review here.

win

rosepic

Rosemarie Ross is a pseudonym of multi-published in multi-genres author, Rose Ross Zediker. Rose writes cozy mystery novels, contemporary and historical inspirational romance novels, and has hundreds of publishing credits in the Christian magazine genre for children and adults. Her titles have appeared on ECPA bestseller lists and been finalists for the RITA, National Reader’s Choice, Booksellers Best and Book Buyers Best award contests. Visit Rosemarie at www.rosemarieross.com.

9 thoughts on “Rosemarie Ross

  1. I look forward to reading this with the cooking competition angle. I mostly watch holiday-themed ones, so this is a great time of year for that.
    browninggloria(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.