Efficient isn’t as important as Effective

Please join me in welcoming my beautiful friend, Jackie Layton.

authorphoto2018

Hi Sharee, thanks so much for inviting me to join you today.

This summer I read What’s Best Next by Matt Perman and treated it as a Bible study. As a writer there are so many issues to address, and paralysis can set in. What is the best step to take next?

Perman didn’t write this book for authors specifically. It’s for anybody and everybody. He says we can learn to be effective in the “midst of seventy-five emails, twelve phone calls, and eighteen interruptions a day.”

I learned to look at every aspect of my life as an opportunity to glorify God.

One point that punched me in the gut was being efficient is not as important as being effective. I can be efficient, but if I’m doing the wrong task efficiently, I’m not effective. Ouch.

I’ve always been a prayer, but I’m trying to listen better after reading Perman’s book. I’m also trying to keep my eyes open for opportunities to glorify God. Big things and little things.

As far as my writing goes, I learned to write in blocks of time. I don’t step away to rotate the laundry or load the dishwasher. I am giving myself blocks of time to sit down and only write. I belong to an online accountability group of writers and we check in with BICHOK. Butt in chair hands on keyboard. When I sign in with that, I ignore social media and focus on writing.

I’d love to hear ways you’ve found to be more effective in your work. Also, I’d love to pray for you. Please leave me a message, and I’ll pray.

Sharee, thanks again for hosting me.

Jackie, your words are a great reminder! Thank you for joining us!

Friends, you can find Jackie at:

http://www.jackielaytonauthor.com

http://jackiesbackporch.blogspot.com

Twitter: @Joyfuljel

https://www.facebook.com/JackieLaytonAuthor

https://www.facebook.com/Joyfuljel

https://www.pinterest.com/jackiebeth117/

https://www.instagram.com/joyfuljel/

 

12 thoughts on “Efficient isn’t as important as Effective

    • Karen, thanks so much for stopping by and sharing! Writing is so solitary, and I need an accountability partner! Even if she doesn’t push me, writing out my plans helps me to stay on track.

      Like

  1. WOW!! How did you know I needed this post, Jackie?! 😉 Thank you sooo much for sharing – – this truly is a reminder I needed (and need daily).
    Sharee, thank you for hosting Jackie today – – you ladies are two of my favorite people! 🙂
    Hugs, Patti Jo

    Like

  2. Hi Jackie and Sharee! I finally discovered that I get more words down when I put aside blocks of time. Not as much laundry gets done etc but treating writing like a real job, means leaving laundry and housework to the evening and weekends when I’d be doing it anyway if I worked “outside the home”. And I love that phrase “efficiency is not always effective”…words to live by!

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed this book, too, and have asked myself many times if what I am doing is effective and making a difference around me (or will make a difference at some point!). It definitely changes your perspective. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  4. Good morning, Jackie!

    If I’m writing a rough draft or adding words, I work in 15-min. sprints followed by a minimum of a 5-min. break. During that 15 min. I don’t answer the phone or get on social media. During the break, I switch laundry, go to the restroom, get another bottle of water…whatever, just none of that during my writing sprint. But I’ve noticed I don’t do revisions in small blocks. I do better to sit down until that issue is resolved.

    I’m so excited for you getting the 3-book contract!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.