Celebrating the birth of a book baby!

Sherrinda_squareOne of my favorite things about the writing community is the relationships we build with other authors. Witnessing the birth of your friend’s book baby is an honor and there’s nothing like sharing in her excitement. That’s exactly what I’m experiencing with my sweet friend, Sherrinda Ketchersid. Her debut novel Lord of Her Heart comes out on May 14th!

Please join us as we talk about Lord of her Heart.

LordofHerHeart_FINAL

SHAREE: A favorite question is always where did you get the idea for the book?

SHERRINDA: When I decided to write a medieval romance, I researched women back in that time period. I learned that wealthy girls were often sent to convents to be taught various things like reading, writing, morality, spinning, weaving, and the like to prepare them to be caretakers of their homes once they married. I began to ask ‘what if’. What if a girl’s parents ceased to communicate with her? What if she was abandoned at the convent? What if she was being forced to either take her vows to the church or be married off to an old man? Those questions led to Jocelyn’s story and her escape from a convent as a boy.

SHAREE: Oh yes, “What If” is one of my favorite games! Do you have any special things or chores that must be accomplished before you sit down to write?

SHERRINDA: Yes! I like to have my bed made and kitchen cleaned up before I start. Since I have a puppy, we take a walk to wear him out so he will sleep for a while. Then I fix a cup of coffee, light a candle, and then sit down to write. I can usually get a couple of hours in before the puppy wakes up.

SHAREE: I do the same thing minus the candle, but I do have a Scentsy melting beside me so that counts too, right? I’m so glad you mentioned your puppy. We’ve seen his picture on social media and want to know all about him! Oh, and in case you haven’t yet seen Phineas, let me show you all how adorable this guy is!

IMG_2175

SHERRINDA: Oh, my sweet Phineas. Since I quit working outside the home, I kept thinking how nice it would be to get a dog to keep me company. I thought I’d rescue an older dog, but my daughter’s bosses found Phineas out on the street when he was nine weeks old. They tried to find the owner and took it to the vet to see about a microchip, but there was none. My daughter knew I’d been wanting a dog and sent a picture—I was smitten and picked him up that day. I will say that my writing time has been seriously compromised, but I love the little guy. He does get me off the couch and I’m in better shape because of him.

SHAREE: I give my dog all the credit for my walking habits and healthier self. They’re the best and what a wonderful story about you and Phineas’ first meeting. I’m so glad he found his fur-ever home with you! I could talk about animals all day, but I’ll restrain myself and get back to writing questions. What advice would you give to a new writer?

SHERRINDA: Oh goodness. Keep writing. You are going to have days when you do not feel like writing, but just sit down and purpose to write one page. Just one. You will be surprised how many pages will flow.

SHAREE: Absolutely!! What are you working on now?

SHERRINDA: I am in the editing/rewriting phase of my second book, His to Keep. It is the story of Ian McGowan, the head guardsman in Lord of Her Heart. They say the sophomore book is the hardest book you will ever write and I believe it! The doubt, the fear—it’s been paralyzing. With the first book, you just write for the pure joy of it. You don’t know any better. With the second, you know the rules of writing and don’t want to break them. It stifles the creativity. I keep telling myself to just to write—I can clean it up later. Whew! What a cleanup I’m doing right now!

SHAREE: I can give a hearty AMEN to that, but having read your writing, I have no doubt His to Keep will be as fabulous as Lord of Her Heart! When you’re not writing, what books do you enjoy reading?

SHERRINDA: I love romance. Historical or contemporary, it doesn’t matter. As long as there is romance, I’m a happy girl.

SHAREE: Ah yes, we do love our happily-ever-afters! You also have a unique talent in scripture journaling. How did you get started? And do you have a favorite scripture?

SHERRINDA: I happened upon it while searching social media for contemporary lettering. I love calligraphy and brush lettering was becoming all the rage. While scrolling through Instagram and Pinterest, I started seeing Bible Journaling and was immediately hooked. Painting and lettering in my journaling Bible (a Bible with wide margins for notetaking) has become a great way to meditate on special verses during my quiet time. My favorite scripture is Galatians 5:1. “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.” It’s my life verse. We are not only free from sin, we are free to do so many things for Him. There is so much hope in the freedom He gives.

SHAREE: I couldn’t agree more. What’s something our readers would be surprised to learn about you?

SHERRINDA: I love gummy bears. LOVE them. I would eat them every day if I could. But alas, I am a low-carb, no sugar gal now so gummy bears are a thing of the past. Hmm, I’m thinking maybe on the release day of Lord of Her Heart, I should buy a bag of gummy bears to celebrate. What do you think?

SHAREE: I say have at the mega size bag of gummy bears! And we might be having some at our house to celebrate with you! Who is your favorite character in Lord of Her Heart and why?

SHERRINDA: I want to say Malcolm, because he is dreamy and strong, but actually, I fell in love with Ian, the head guardsman. He is funny. He is kind. He is very protective and loyal. He became someone I had to know more about.

SHAREE: Is there someone we’re going to love to hate in Lord of Her Heart?

SHERRINDA: Oh yes, everyone will hate Helen, Jocelyn’s step-mother. I won’t go into detail, but let’s just say I just wanted to slap her a time or two.

SHAREE: I love that! Will there be a sequel or is this a stand alone?

SHERRINDA: It is both! I’m giving Ian McGowan, the head guardsman, his own story, but the two books can stand on their own. The characters from Lord of Her Heart don’t make an appearance in the second story. It’s all about Ian.

SHAREE: Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

SHERRINDA: Thank you so much for having me today and letting me talk about Lord of Her Heart! You are always so generous with your encouragement. Were you a cheerleader at some point in your life? 😉

SHAREE: Bahahahahaha. No cheerleading for me. But I’m loving the chance to cheer you on. It’s almost selfish because I’m getting to see the fruit of your labor and it is so gratifying. Friend, I’m so absolutely thrilled that the world will finally get to read Lord of Her Heart!

LordofHerHeart_FINAL

He’s fighting for his future—she’s running for her life.

Lady Jocelyn Ashburne suspects something is amiss at her family’s castle
because her father ceases to write to her. When she overhears a plot to
force her into vows—either to the church or a husband—she disguises
herself and flees the convent in desperation to discover the truth.

Malcolm Castillon of Berkham is determined to win the next tournament
and be granted a manor of his own. After years of proving his worth on
the jousting field, he yearns for a life of peace. Rescuing a scrawny
lad who turns out to be a beautiful woman is not what he bargained for.
Still, he cannot deny that she stirs his heart like no other, in spite
of her conniving ways.

Chaos, deception, and treachery threaten their goals, but both are
determined to succeed. Learning to trust each other might be the only
way either of them survives.

Sherrinda_squareAuthor Bio

Sherrinda Ketchersid is a lover of stories with happily-ever-after endings. Whether set in the past or present, romance is what she writes and where her dreams reside. Sherrinda lives in north-central Texas with her preacher husband. With four grown children, three guys and a gal, she has more time and energy to spin tales of faith, fun, and forever love.

 

Connect with Sherrinda:

Website: www.sherrinda.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SherrindaKetchersidAuthor/

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/sherrinda

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sherrinda

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sherrinda/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19022507.Sherrinda_Ketchersid

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/sherrinda-ketchersid

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Sherrinda-Ketchersid/e/B07Q5Y8QHF/

BUY LINK: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07Q4R9L8Z/

10 thoughts on “Celebrating the birth of a book baby!

  1. Good morning, ladies! Sherrinda, congratulations! I know you must be bubbling over with excitment, anxiety, and all the mixed emotions that come with launching a book! Looking forward to celebrating the success of Lord of Her Heart with you! What a great storyline!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much, Karen! Yes, all the emotions! lol I didn’t really think about the anxiety of it all, but it is definitely there! 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Sharee and Sherrinda! I enjoyed this fun post. So happy for you as you begin launch week for your gorgeous book! Many blessings to both of you♡

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Congratulations on your book baby, Sherrinda! Great interview. I enjoyed getting to know more about you, and your writing process. So happy for you! And what a cute puppy. I’m not sure I’d get any writing done with that little fellow around 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Laura! That’s what I love about interviews. I love finding out something new about an author. And yes, I am definitely struggling with my writing time having Phineas in my house. 😉

      Like

  4. Sherrinda, this is so cool. I’ve read your posts on the Alley Cats, so it’s nice to see you in another venue. Sounds like a great read.

    Like

  5. I’m so excited about the release of Lord of Her Heart! I want to stand on the parapet and trumpet its arrival. I love the intrigue and romance, and most especially hero Malcolm! (Plus I’m so glad Ian gets his own story.) Congratulations on your amazing book baby! Please pass the celebratory gummy bears!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.